InSb/GaAs heterostructures for magnetic field sensors
Sukhanov M. A.1, Protasov D. Yu.1,2, Bakarov A. K.1, Makeeva A. A.1, Loshkarev I. D.1, Zhuravlev K. S.1
1Rzhanov Institute of Semiconductor Physics, Siberian Branch, Russian Academy of Sciences, Novosibirsk, Russia
2Novosibirsk State Technical University, Novosibirsk, Russia

Structural defects and transport properties have been studied in InSb layers grown on GaAs substrates by molecular beam epitaxy. The composition of the buffer layer which ensures the lowest defect density and electron mobility of about 39 000 cm2/(V· s) at room temperature in undoped InSb layers 0.5 μm thick was determined. A Hall sensor based on n-type InSb layers with a high room-temperature sensitivity (~ 27 V/(A· T)) was created. Keywords: molecular beam epitaxy, InSb layers on GaAs, Hall sensor, heteroepitaxy.
  1. T. Zhang, S.K. Clowes, M. Debnath, A. Bennett, C. Roberts, J.J. Harris, R.A. Stradling, L.F. Cohena, T. Lyford, P.F. Fewster, Appl. Phys. Lett., 84 (22), 4463 (2004). DOI: 10.1063/1.1748850
  2. X. Zhao, Y. Zhang, M. Guan, L. Cui, B. Wang, Z. Zhu, Y. Zeng, J. Cryst. Growth, 470, 1 (2017). DOI: 10.1016/j.jcrysgro.2017.03.051
  3. O. Kazakova, J.C. Gallop, P. See, D. Cox, G.K. Perkins, J.D. Moore, L.F. Cohen, IEEE Trans. Magn., 45 (10), 4499 (2009). DOI: 10.1109/TMAG.2009.2025513
  4. M. Oszwaldowski, T. Berus, Thin Solid Films, 515 (4), 2692 (2006). DOI: 10.1016/j.tsf.2006.07.023
  5. T. Berus, M. Oszwaldowski, J. Grabowski, Sensors Actuators A, 116 (1), 75 (2004). DOI: j.sna.2004.03.029
  6. S. El-Ahmar, M. Przychodnia, J. Jankowski, R. Prokopowicz, M. Ziemba, M.J. Szary, W. Reddig, J. Jagie o, A. Dobrowolski, T. Ciuk, Sensors, 22 (14), 5258 (2022). DOI: 10.3390/s22145258
  7. J. Jankowski, S. El-Ahmar, M. Oszwaldowski, Sensors, 11 (1), 876 (2011). DOI: 10.3390/s110100876
  8. A.N. Semenov, B.Ya. Meltser, V.A. Solov'ev, T.A. Komissarova, A.A. Sitnikova, D.A. Kirylenko, A.M. Nadtochyi, T.V. Popova, P.S. Kop'ev, S.V. Ivanov, Semiconductors, 45 (10), 1327 (2011). DOI: 10.1134/S1063782611100150
  9. G. Chen, W. Sun, Y. Lv, Infrared Phys. Technol., 81, 262 (2017). DOI: 10.1016/j.infrared.2017.01.014
  10. A.E. Blakeslee, MRS Online Proceedings Library, 148, 217 (1989). DOI: 10.1557/PROC-148-217
  11. T.D. Mishima, J.C. Keay, N. Goel, M.A. Ball, S.J. Chung, M.B. Johnson, M.B. Santos, Physica E, 20 (3-4), 260 (2004). DOI: 10.1016/j.physe.2003.08.014
  12. M.A. Ball, J.C. Keay, S.J. Chung, M.B. Santos, M.B. Johnson, Appl. Phys. Lett., 80 (12), 2138 (2002). DOI: 10.1063/1.1463206

Ioffe Institute

Institute Officers:

Director: Sergei V. Ivanov

Contact us:

26 Polytekhnicheskaya, Saint Petersburg 194021, Russian Federation
Fax: +7 (812) 297 1017
Phone: +7 (812) 297 2245