Non-covalent structures of negative ions formed during the dissociative capture of electrons by molecules
N. L. Asfandiarov1, M. V. Muftakhov1, A. M. Safronov1, R.V. Galeev1, S. A. Pshenichnyuk1
1Institute of Molecule and Crystal Physics, Subdivision of the Ufa Federal Research Centre of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Ufa, Russia

The method of dissociative electron attachment (DEA) spectroscopy was used to study the attachment of electrons to 1-chloronaphthalene molecules. It has been established that the dominant channel for the decay of molecular ions is the formation of Cl- ions in three resonances at 0.7, 1.5, and 3.0 eV. Ions [M-H]- and [M-Cl]- are observed at energies from 3.5 to 8.5 eV and have two to three orders of magnitude lower formation cross sections. Long-lived molecular ions were not registered. Calculations in the DFT CAM B3LYP/6-311+G(d,p) approximation predict the presence of six stable anionic structures in which the chlorine anion is coordinated to the neutral residue via noncovalent H-Cl^-H bonds. The electron affinity of the most stable of these structures coincides with the experimentally measured value EA_a=0.2771±0.003 eV. These results agree with the previously obtained data on the DEA of molecules of bromine-substituted biphenyls, naphthalenes, and anthracenes and confirm the existence of anionic structures with non-covalent H-Hal-H bonds. Such non-covalent anion structures should be extremely reactive, which makes them promising for the synthesis of self-assembling hydrocarbon nanomembranes. Keywords: Attachment of electrons to molecules, electron affinity, potential surface, DFT calculations.
  1. V.I. Khvostenko. Mass-Spectrometry of Negative Ions in Organic Chemistry (Nauka, M., 1981)
  2. E. Illenberger, B.M. Smirnov. UFN, 168, 731 (1998)
  3. S.A. Pshenichnyuk, N.L. Asfandiarov, A.S. Vorobyov, Sh. Mateichik. UFN, 192 (2), 177 (2022)
  4. N.L. Asfandiarov, M.V. Muftakhov, S.A. Pshenichnyuk, P. Papp, M. Danko, M. Lacko, J. Blav sko, v S. Matejv cik, A. Modelli. J. Chem. Phys., 147, 234302 (2017)
  5. N.L. Asfandiarov, M.V. Muftakhov, S.A. Pshenichnyuk, R.G. Rakhmeev, A.M. Safronov, A.V. Markova, A.S. Vorob'ev, T.F.M. Luxford, J. Kov civ sek, J. Fedor. J. Chem. Phys., 155, 244302 (2021). DOI: 10.1063/5.0074013
  6. N. Takeda, P.V. Poliakov, A.R. Cook, J.R. Miller. J. Am. Chem. Soc., 126 (13), 4301 (2004)
  7. N.L. Asfandiarov, S.A. Pshenichnyuk, R.G. Rakhmeyev, R.F. Tuktarov, N.L. Zaitsev, A.S. Vorob'ev, J. Kocv civ sek, J. Fedor, A. Modelli. J. Chem. Phys., 150, 114304 (2019).
  8. N.L. Asfandiarov, M.V. Muftakhov, R.G. Rakhmeev, A.M. Safronov, A.V. Markova, S.A. Pshenichnyuk. J. Electron Spectr. Rel. Phen., 256, 147178 (2022)
  9. P. Longevialle. Mass Spectrometry Reviews, 11 (3), 157 (1992)
  10. A.G. Suits. Annu. Rev. Phys. Chem., 71, 77 (2020)
  11. N.L. Asfandiarov, S.A. Pshenichnyuk, A.S. Vorob'ev, E.P. Nafikova, Y.N. Elkin, D.N. Pelageev, E.A. Koltsova, A. Modelli. Rapid Commun. Mass Spectrom., 28 (14), 1580 (2014). DOI: 10.1002/rcm.6934
  12. A.A. Makarov, A.L. Malinovsky, E.A. Ryabov. Phys. Usp., 55 (10), 977 (2012). DOI:10.3367/UFNe.0182.201210e.1047
  13. N.L. Asfandiarov, S.A. Pshenichnyuk, A.S. Vorob'ev, E.P. Nafikova, A. Modelli. Rapid Commun. Mass Spectrom., 29 (9), 910 (2015). DOI: 10.1002/rcm.7162
  14. E.S. Chen, E.C.M. Chen. Rapid Commun. Mass Spectrom., 32 (7), 604 (2018). DOI: 10.1002/rcm.8072
  15. J.C. Steelhammer, W.E. Wentworth. J. Chem. Phys., 51 (5), 1802 (1969).DOI: 10.1063/1.1672262
  16. S.A. Pshenichnyuk, A.S. Vorob'ev, A. Modelli. J. Chem. Phys., 135 (18), 184301 (2011). DOI: 10.1063/1.3658372
  17. A.M. Scheer, P.D. Burrow. J. Phys. Chem. B, 110 (36), 17751 (2006)
  18. A. Modelli. Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys., 5 (14), 2923 (2003)
  19. T. Koopmans. Physica, 1 (1--6), 104 (1934)
  20. P.D. Burrow, G.A. Gallup, A. Modelli. J. Phys. Chem. A, 112, 4106 (2008)
  21. S. Koch, C.D. Kaiser, P. Penner, M. Barclay, L. Frommeyer, D. Emmrich, P. Stohmann, T. Abu-Husein, A. Terfort, D.H. Fairbrother, O. Ingolfsson, A. Golzhauser. Beilstein J. Nanotechnol., 8, 2562 (2017)
  22. M. Cipriani, R. Bjornsson, M. Barclay, A. Terfort, D.H. Fairbrother, O. Ingolfsson. Int. J. Mass Spectrom., 459, 116452 (2021)

Подсчитывается количество просмотров абстрактов ("html" на диаграммах) и полных версий статей ("pdf"). Просмотры с одинаковых IP-адресов засчитываются, если происходят с интервалом не менее 2-х часов.

Дата начала обработки статистических данных - 27 января 2016 г.


Ioffe Institute

Institute Officers:

Director: Sergei V. Ivanov

Contact us:

26 Polytekhnicheskaya, Saint Petersburg 194021, Russian Federation
Fax: +7 (812) 297 1017
Phone: +7 (812) 297 2245